World’s Best Pumpkin Biscuits

My wife has been the best thing for me. Not only because she is a great wife, but because she has introduced me to great food. She grew up on a farm in a small town of 700 in Montana. She and her sisters know how to cook a mean meal. On many occations, those meals have included pumpkin biscuits, which I never even knew existed until I married my wife.

This recipe is actually quite simple. I didn’t bake these scrumptious, melt-in-your-mouth, gems for years, because I was too intimidated. But, one time my wife wasn’t around when I needed to make them with some corn chowder for a sick friend. So, I made them on my own and realized that they, like buttermilk biscuits, are very easy to make.

 

INGREDIENTS:

2 1/2 cups flour

(note: never just scoop up your flour. It will compact and give you the wrong amount. Always shake from another cup into your measuring cup, then level it off.)

3 tablespoons packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 cup (one stick) butter

(Note: always use real butter. Margarine will NOT cut it.)

15 oz. can pumpkin

 

 

Mix dry ingredients.

 

Cut in butter with a pastry blender until mixture looks like corn meal.

 

Mix add pumpkin.

 

Mix together until you form a ball of dough, like this.

 

Flatten out until about an inch or so thick.

 

Cut out with a three inch biscuit cutter

Place right next to each other in a cake pan

 

Bake at 400 degrees for 15 to 20 minutes

Take out of oven.

 

Isn't that perfect?

3 thoughts on “World’s Best Pumpkin Biscuits

Leave a Reply

