There Are Times In My Life When I Look My List of Projects In The Eye and Say, “Screw You! I’m Going To Take Care of My Family Now.”

Today I have been working furiously to write a cookbook that we want to give my sister-in-law Stacy and her family for Christmas.  I have been rushing to finish it, so I can send it up with some family members that were leaving tomorrow to meet her in Montana for Thanksgiving.

I stayed up late last night, and worked all day today to meet this deadline. As a result, I transformed into the most hideous creature you ever did see. I ignored my kids, so I could work – leaving them to fend for themselves. I stuck McCann in front of the TV making him watch an endless stream of Disney movies. Even he was getting tired of them.

When they would ask me to help them with something, I would bark, “Get it yourself! I am busy!” McCann and I didn’t eat all day today. I was too focused on the book. The only reason Lily ate was because she had school lunch.  My house was a dump; I had no time to tidy it up. There are only a few hours left for me to write, print, bind and wrap this book.

At one point, McCann asked me, for the millionth time, to fill his sippy cup with milk. I yelled, “No! Get it yourself! You’re big enough!” Truth be told, a gallon of milk is still quite heavy for his little four year old arms. We yelled back and forth at each other for about 15 minutes when finally he came stomping up the stairs crying and yelling at me.

At that point, I thought, “What kind of stupid idiot are you anyway, Luhi?” I dropped everything, and took care of my kids and my house. In a few minutes, we are going to pick up mom and  stop by Little Caesars to get a hot-n-ready pizza to go. Sometimes I need a kick in the pants to get my head on right.

Look at these cute kids. How could I neglect that?

2 thoughts on “There Are Times In My Life When I Look My List of Projects In The Eye and Say, “Screw You! I’m Going To Take Care of My Family Now.”

Leave a Reply

