How to Make a Decadent Chocolate Cake That All Your Friends Will Rave About

“Luhi, that is the best chocolate cake I have EVER had!” –Mindy Gledhill

 

Yes, that is what we are dealing with here. I get comments, like the one above, every time I make this cake. My wife and her sisters have been making this recipe for about 15 years, and it is always a hit.

 

 

The nurses I work with on the pediatric unit, wanted me to share the recipe. This forced me to work faster on this post.

 

Ingredients

INGREDIENTS:

Shortening for greasing pans

Flour for greasing pans (about 1/4 cup)

6 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate

6 tablespoons butter

2 1/3 cups boiling water

3 1/2 cups flour

3 cups sugar

3/4 cup sour cream

3 eggs

3 teaspoons baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 1/2 teaspoons real vanilla extract

COOKING TOOLS

3 round eight  inch cake pans

Teapot or microwave safe container to boil water

Wisk

large bowl

3 cooling racks

 

 

Pre-heat oven at 350.

Grease your cake pans with shortening.

Now coat in flour. Shake off any excess. Set pans aside.

Boil water and then measure out 2 1/3 cups

 

Add boiling water, butter and baking chocolate to a bowl.

 

Once chocolate is softened, whisk until smooth. Some of the chocolate won't be all the way melted, so you will have to work with it.

It will look like this.

Add flour and whisk in.

Add sugar and whisk in.

Add sour cream and whisk in.

Add eggs and whisk in.

Add baking soda and salt and whisk in.

Add vanilla and whisk in.

Pour batter in pans. Only fill half way up. Bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean after poking it.

Whoops! I forgot to set the timer. I guess I'll have to keep an eye on the clock and check the cakes frequently.

Ooops! My cake overflowed and sunk. No worries. I know the secrets to covering my mistakes. Just stick with me.

Oh my gosh! Look how horrible that looks. I've told many people that I am not that great of a cook, but they don't believe me. If I can do this, people, so can you. Let's do this.

Take a knife and cut around the edges to make sure there is no part of the cake sticking to the pan. We'll use frosting to cover our tracks.

Turn out the cake onto a cooling rack by placing the rack on top of the cake pan then turning it upside down

Make sure your son does not touch the cake.

FROSTING

NOTE: You will need this recipe times three. Three separate times.

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 cup butter (1 stick)

2/3 cup baking cocoa powder

1/3 cup milk

3 cups powdered sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

COOKING TOOLS:

Small pot

Whisk

Rubber spatula

Melt butter in pot.

 

Add and whisk in the cocoa powder.

Measure out your milk.

Take a picture of your friend Janene who is over for a visit.

Whoops! We ran out of powdered sugar. Guess we better open another bag.

Add powdered sugar and milk alternately to butter/cocoa mixture, starting with powdered sugar.

Then milk. Add about each of milk and powdered sugar each time.

Then stir in the vanilla.

I love the Nielson-Massey brand vanilla. I got this at Williams-Sonoma. What ever brand you are using, make sure it is a high quality vanilla. It makes a HUGE difference.

Make sure to lick the whisk.

Spread frosting liberally on top of the first layer then put it in the freezer for at least 10 minutes to let the frosting set.

Do the same with the next layer (making a new batch of frosting as needed. And putting it in the freezer for at least 10 minutes with each layer).

Do the same with the top layer only this time start frosting around the sides. Make sure to put the cake in the freezer for at least 10 minutes when you're done.

Once cake is set in the freezer, cut slices and place on plates. You can use chocolate syrup, like in this photo, to make it fancy if you like.

4 thoughts on “How to Make a Decadent Chocolate Cake That All Your Friends Will Rave About

    • No problem, Mindy. Glad to help you start your day off on the right foot. Karen was just about to exercise, when I dropped by her place after yours. She was cursing me under her breath.

Leave a Reply

