I Made a Soup Out of Rotten Food I Found In My Fridge

 

My wife opened the fridge and commented, “What stinks in there?” I thought it was time to clean out the fridge. Here is what I found:



I went through these items one by one.

Wow! I don't even remember when I made this squash soup, and it smells stale. This is going right into the compost pile.

This tomato sauce still looks good. I'm going to stick back in the fridge and see if I can get it moldy.

This cabbage will be fine after I remove the outer layers.

Uhhhhhh! I found the source of the stench in our fridge. These rotten broccoli cuts. This is going out right now!

This chicken is still fine.

Green onions look good too.

This lettuce has to go.

Got this from my friend Christine, who is a world renowned gardener. Glad it is still good. Would be a shame to waste it.

This celery is looking pretty limp. I only need two stalks. I am sure I can pull that much good out of it.

Carrots are OK.

These chopped onions look good too. OK. Let's get cooking.

OK. So there is a base recipe to soups with meat. Here you go:

1 medium onion

1 tablespoon minced garlic

1 lb meat of choice

Vegetables of choice

starch of choice (beans, potatoes, rice, noodles, etc.)

2 teaspoons dried parsley

1 teaspoon dried basil

3 15 oz. cans of chicken broth

 

You can use this base to use up food in your fridge getting old and turn it into a good soup. Here is what I did, in this case, when I cleaned out my fridge today.

I pulled the chicken meat off the bones.

Found two good stalks of celery and chopped them up.

Chopped two of the medium carrots.

Chopped up the cabbage.

Chopped up the purple cabbage too.

Last but not least, I chopped up the green onion. I opted to only put in the bulb section.

Melted 1 tablespoon of butter in a large pot.

 

I sautéed the onions, green onions, and 1 tablespoon garlic until onions were soft and translucent.

I have always said that I love to use jars of pre-minced garlic. No matter what the famous chefs say.

I have this very expensive, very nice heavy duty garlic press that I never use anymore. If you want it, send me a message and it 's yours.

Anyway, lets get back to business. I then added in the chicken and cooked for about 3 minutes.

Then I threw in the carrots and celery and cooked them for about 4 minutes.

Added 2 teaspoons dried parsley, and 1 teaspoon dried basil.

Added in three 15 oz. cans of chicken broth.

Added in both cabbages and cooked until tender.

Added two 15 oz. cans of pinto beans and one 15 oz. can of diced tomatoes. Now I have a yummy soup. You can do the same with the stuff in your fridge.

 

2 thoughts on “I Made a Soup Out of Rotten Food I Found In My Fridge

Leave a Reply

