Black Friday Madness 2010: Special Video Interview

Here it is a little after 4:30 in the morning. As I left our bedroom, Fauneil sincerely said, "Your crazy." I had some serious doubts as I looked at her all warm and snug in our bed. I must be crazy, because I am not even going out to buy anything, just capture the madness on film.

This is the closest I could park. I am one space from the very end of their parking lot. There are probably 3 times as many people here as compared to a normal day.

Check out this line of police cars out front. Keeping the peace in a crazy time. I asked an officer inside what time he had to get there. He said he didn't have to be there till 4:00 A.M. Sounds mighty early to me.

As I walked through the doors, I saw a couple leafing through a newspaper ad and discussing strategy. These are some serious Black Friday shoppers.

Here is a group of people gathered around a stack of DVD players - waiting for 5:00 A.M. Store workers guard the pallet of goodies until the appropriate time.

More people waiting for the 5:00 A.M. signal. Walmart seems to be the right place for your Black Friday shopping. You can wait in the warmth of the store.

Once 5:00 A.M. hit, a workers said, "Go!" and people sprung into action.

Check out this guy's haul.

This is the 2nd year I have ventured out to capture the madness, and surprisingly I have not seen any fights break out. People have been quite polite. Dang! I want to catch the old lady pounding on some punk teenager to get that electronic gadget on sale.

I stopped at Best Buy on the way home to see if I could catch an interview. I must confess, I parked in a Hanicap spot.

Here is what I figure: I am parked here in front of the Red Mango...

and the lines by Best Buy are WAY over there. I don't think there are any handicapped people that are going to use this spot.

I interviewed someone at the front of the line. It must be early, because I totally missed her face while filming. Oh well, you can hear what she is saying. That is the important part.

Here I am safe at home at 5:45 A.M. Looks like I was gone a little more than an hour. Will I do this next year? Probably not. Anyway. I'm off to hop in my warm bed with my beautiful wife.

One thought on “Black Friday Madness 2010: Special Video Interview

Leave a Reply

