I Spent $300 On Toothpaste, $698.03 On Band-aides, and $572.98 On Over the Counter Medications

I rarely talk politics in public, because I have so many friends that have opposite views from mine (Freedom of speech and opinion is a good thing.) But this topic makes me want to fire bullets at Washington. So sorry in advance to my liberal friends. Just skip this post.

Here is $572.98 worth of over the counter medications.

Here is $698.03 worth of bandages and first aide kit supplies.

This tiny tube of toothpaste costs us $10.00. We buy it from our dentist. It has 10 times the fluoride. We bought 30 tubes.

Why have I done something so crazy? Because I have over $3,000.00 left on my flex account that needs to be spent by December 31, 2010. So I am buying a year’s supply of medical stuff to last us through 2011.

Medical expenses for Lily’s genetic disorder usually run us over $50,000 per year. Normally we use up our flex account by mid-February, but Lily got on Medicaid near the beginning of the year. The result? We now have an extra $3,000.00 that we will lose if we don’t spend it.

MY GRIPE #1: Why can’t they just tax the left over money and give it back to me? Do they have to take it all? They allow that with health savings accounts. Pretty much the same thing. Oh wait. They’re the government. Of course they have to take it.

MY GRIPE#2: Why can’t I adjust my monthly flex account contribution mid-year to make up for unforeseeable  situations? They allow that for health savings accounts too. I guess it might be too much to ask for our government to actually make sense.

MY GRIPE #3. Every time I use my flex account debit card, I run into trouble. For example, once they disputed a co-pay to my doctor’s office. It said “Doctor so and so” right on the line item, but they wanted me to send in a receipt to prove the expense.

Another example: I couldn’t buy the small bottles of Nyquil Cherry flavor. It didn’t qualify. But the big bottle of Nyquil Cherry flavor was O.K. The small bottle of regular flavor was O.K. Why was the small bottle of cherry flavor rejected? Other items I could not get: cotton swabs, ear wax drops, certain ace bandages (not all of them), vitamin D, and the list goes on. Who is on this committee that decides what is an acceptable medical supply? And how did they decide that a big bottle of Cherry Nyquil is O.K., but a small bottle of Cherry Nyquil is not?

MY GRIPE #4: I tried to get online to see what items I could and could not buy with my flex card, but of course the website has been down for three weeks. Grrr!

Well, I have another $1,428.99 to spend and only a few days left to spend it. I better get off the computer and start spending.

5 thoughts on “I Spent $300 On Toothpaste, $698.03 On Band-aides, and $572.98 On Over the Counter Medications

  1. Okay, so as one of your maybe more liberal friends, I laughed and felt your pain on this one. I’ve done my time with medicaid (Thank You for my older 3 beautiful children, Medicaid Gods.) But the system is NOT in working order–it is in need of serious overhaul. The only comment I’ve heard a politico make about this that actually made sense (and I heard it on NPR, go figure) was that it cost more to re-do/overhaul/fix a system than to make a new one–or 10 new ones, so as usual, the government takes the cheaper, easier route.

    As to purchase suggestions:see if you can use it for “massage therapy” and go work out some kinks. 🙂

    Oh and the gripe you didn’t make, that I certainly would’ve made would be this: Where the H%$* are you going to store all that? 🙂

    • Very true Alaska, I was just looking at my storage room last night thinking where I am going to store all that crap. And massage therapy IS on our list. Yes!

    • Oh, another thing Alaska. If it costs less to build a new system, the I say build it. Build a new Medicaid, build a new flex program and dump the old one.

  2. Ideas for spending $1200. Eye glasses. Prescription sunglasses. Dentistry. A visit to the dermatologist. Computer storage of medical records (on our approved list). A hospital grade thermometer. Transportation and travel expenses for person receiving medical care (charge your mileage to SLC for doctor appointments).

Leave a Reply

