Every Time I Make These Made-From-Scratch Buttermilk Pancakes, My Friends Rave

When I worked night shift at the hospital, I would regurly haul in my griddle and a load of supplies to make unlimited buttermilk pancakes. Each time I would do this, the nurses would rave about how good they were. What’s the seceret? It’s simpler than you might  think.

1. Buttermilk. It’s a must. I have tried the subsitutes and they don’t work.

2. Do NOT over mix the batter.

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup buttermilk

1 large egg

2 tablespoons cooking oil

1 cup flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Add wet ingredients to a bowl.

Beat together with a wisk until it is in a liquid form.

Add dry ingredients. (Note: do NOT scoop up flour with measuring cup. Shake from one cup into the one you are measuring with. This will give you an accurate measurement. For years I was doing this wrong until my wife set me straight. She let's me make pancakes now.

Mix with a spoon. Do NOT over mix. Will still be a little lumpy. Let sit for a couple of minutes for wet to soak into the dry.

Pour batter with a 1/3 measuring cup onto a griddle or buttered frying pan.

When both sides are golden brown, remove and put onto a plate.

Top with butter or your favorite syrup. I use this Vermont-made syrup that I buy at Williams=Sonoma. I have yet to find the perfect maple syrup, but so far, this one takes the cake (pancake, that is.)

2 thoughts on “Every Time I Make These Made-From-Scratch Buttermilk Pancakes, My Friends Rave

  1. Too funny, Babe. You said that you haul in your girdle, but I’m pretty sure you meant griddle. Either way, you make a mean pancake.

Leave a Reply

