Tanya’s Famous Chicken Tortilla Soup. You Haven’t Had Tortilla Soup Like This Folks.

This is Tanya. I work with her at Williams-Sonoma. She gave me this recipe, and I am forever grateful. (Doesn't she look nice? She is.)

INGREDIENTS:

1 medium onion, chopped

2-3 cloves garlic, minced

1 Jalapeño, minced.

2-3 cooked chicken breasts, or a rotisserie chicken (meat torn off).

1-2 – 15 oz. cans tomatoes with chipotles

1-8 oz. can tomato sauce

1-15 oz can corn

4 cups chicken stock

2 teaspoons cumin

TOP WITH:

Tortilla Chips

Sour Cream

Avocado

Cilantro

Lime

COOKING TOOLS

Large Pot

Cutting boards

Knife

Wooden Spoon

Can opener

Measuring cups/spoons

Dice your onions.

I use pre-minced garlic in a jar. I detest mincing/pressing garlic. Pre-minced is quicker easier and has no clean up.

I have a very nice, very expensive garlic press, that I don't use anymore. If you want it, you can have it.

Sauté the garlic and onion until onion is soft and translucent in appearance.

I'm the only one in my family that likes "hot" food, so I sauté the jalapeño separately and add it just to my dish.

A word to the wise: after handling jalapeños, ALWAYS wash your hands before touching your eyes, nose, mouth or using the bathroom, or you will look like this. In my early days of cooking, I made all of these mistakes and paid dearly (especially with the last one).

McCann wanted to give you a second warning.

Cut off top of the jalapeño, and cut in half.

Scoop out seeds (unless you like it very hot. Then leave them in).

Anyway, I diced my jalapeño.


then I sautéd it in oil.

I only used one chicken breast, because this one is so HUGE. It must be from one of those chickens that made all the roosters go "cock-a-doodle-do!"

I diced it then cooked it with the onions and garlic.

Next I added the tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken stock, cumin, and corn.

I added frozen corn, instead of canned, because I like the taste better. If I have time, fresh is my favorite, but no time tonight and it is out of season in December anyway. Time for eggnog and ginger cookies - not fresh corn.

Pour your soup in a bowl and top it with...

Avocado.

Cilantro.

Squeeze some lime juice onto it.

Add a blob of sour cream.

You can top it with store bought tortilla chips, but like the look of the thin tortilla strips (which I have only seen in restaurants,) and I also like the taste of fresh. So, if I am not in a rush, I get corn tortillas and...

cut them into strips.

Fry them in oil.

Put them on paper towels and dab off any excess grease.

Then I top my soup with them.

Thanks Tanya for this delicious recipe, and I hope all you readers enjoy it as much as I do.

5 thoughts on “Tanya’s Famous Chicken Tortilla Soup. You Haven’t Had Tortilla Soup Like This Folks.

Leave a Reply

