The Building, Where My Wife and I Had Our First Date, Burnt To the Ground Today (The story of how I was first smitten by my wife)

This photo stolen from ksl.com

We were set up. The culprit…Stephanie Ashcraft. She’s responsible for the most important event in my life.

(By the way, Stephanie is now a New York Times best selling author, and you can find out more about her at http://www.recipes-101.com/

I saw Stephanie one evening and she said, “I want to set you up!” Although I didn’t show this externally, internally I was rolling my eyes. People were always setting me up, and it was ALWAYS with some girl with which I had nothing in common. Quite frequently, after a blind date, I would say to myself, “Really? You thought HER and I were a good match? Really?”

Anyway, Stephanie set up a ‘non-committal’ game night at her house. When the time came near, Stephanie called me and said we had to change it, because my date had a singing engagement. Fast approached the second date, when Stephanie called me again with the same message. My date had another singing engagement.

When Fauneil told Stephanie this a third time, Stephanie told her, “Here’s his number. Call him yourself.” So one quiet night, I was home  alone, and I got a call from Fauneil. “I hate to say this, but I have anther singing engagement, and we have to postpone again,” Fauneil said.

I asked her if I could go to her concert with her. She was a little taken back, but agreed. I asked her to pick me up, which she thought was weird, but way back then, I owned an old car that had a squeaky belt. There was no way I was going on a first date, a blind one at that, with a car that squealed like a mouse being tortured.

During her concert, she sat with me the first half and sang the second half. I was smitten. I was even ready to cancel a date I had a couple of days later. It was even with a girl that I had (before Fauneil) really liked. The rest is history. Almost a decade later, we are married with three adorable children and chaos rules.

Thanks Stephanie for introducing me to the love of my life. I owe you …BIG time. And sorry I doubted you in the beginning.

So now that historic building is no longer. They will most likely have to tear it down, but my fond memory will live on.

2 thoughts on “The Building, Where My Wife and I Had Our First Date, Burnt To the Ground Today (The story of how I was first smitten by my wife)

Leave a Reply

