How to Make Killer Mashed Potatoes and Gravy That People Will Gladly Murder For.

As I said in my last update, this post is dedicated to Camille Carter for being one of only two friends to answer my ten questions within 24 hours.

Camille is one of those quiet people that you could mistake for aloof, if you’re not careful. But once as you get to know her it is like finding a glittering treasure each time you learn something new about her. When I least expect it, from behind her quiet exterior will emerge witty sarcasm that makes me laugh and feel warm.

What do I like about Camille? I like that she likes to cook, that she like bright Kitchen Aides. I like the fact that her favorite color is not green, but Apple Green, Green Sea or Green Lime. And that her other favorite color is not just pink, but “any shade of pink.”

She also has a considerate heart. As I have said before, I think that mean people suck. It’s a good thing she nice.

Last but not least, I like the fact that her favorite cartoon character is Wonder Woman, because Camille thinks “she makes being a tough chick look good.” By the way, I would not have known that fact if she had not answered my 10 questions. That was the whole reason I asked my all of you, my friends to do it.

So Camille, this post is dedicated to you. This is one of my favorite  recipes. I hope you enjoy it (and the rest of you too.)

INGREDIENTS FOR MASHED POTATOES:

5 medium sized potatoes

2 teaspoons salt

1/2 stick butter

1/2 cup sour cream

I use about one potato per person. In this recipe, I will use five.

Peel, rinse, and dice the potatoes then put them in a pot.

Add two teaspoons salt.

Cover with water, bring to a boil, let boil until potatoes are soft and you can easily pierce them with a fork.

Strain.

Put potatoes through a ricer. Below is a link to buy one if you don't have one already. We bought ours at Williams-Sonoma.

Click here to see a Williams-Sonoma potato ricer.

Squeeze it through the ricer.

This is what it will look like.

Add 1/2 cube butter, and 1/2 cup sour cream. Mix in to potatoes.

INGREDIENT FOR GRAVY:

2 – 15 oz. cans of beef broth

3 tablespoons of Demi-Glace

1/2 – 1 cup heavy cream (or 1/2 and 1/2 if you don’t want it so creamy.)

4 tablespoons corn starch

Put two cups beef broth in a heavy pot.

Add 3 tablespoons Demi Glace. This is my secret ingredient. It will blow you away.

It is a thick paste.

Whisk over medium heat until it is blended. Bring to a gentle boil.

Whisk in cream and corn starch until it thickens.

This is a bad photo of the final product. Salt and pepper to taste. Eat with your favorite meat dish.

 

Well Camille, you win a free bottle of Demi-Glace. One of my secret ingredients for many dishes. For the rest of you click here to see where you can buy it.

 

3 thoughts on “How to Make Killer Mashed Potatoes and Gravy That People Will Gladly Murder For.

  1. Luhi,

    THANK YOU! I am so excited for murder potatoes! And thanks for the nice things you said about me. It was also a welcome surprise. My bright KitchenAid awaits the potatoes… Thanks again 🙂

    Camille

  2. I will have to try the ricer method. I usually spend a lot of time mashing after they are cooked. I think your recipe is a little healthier than mine. I put so much butter, milk, and sour cream in mine that they are more of a dairy product than a vegetable when I’m done. Looks good.

Leave a Reply

