I Frequently Get Asked For This Perfect Clam Chowder Recipe

For several years,  Fauneil made the Junior’s clam chowder recipe for my birthday parties. It was one of my favorite dishes.

If you are not familiar with Juniors's, it is a famous restaurant in Brooklyn, New York.

 

Last year was the first time I actually made it myself. I immediately noticed a few things I did not like about their recipe and decided that I was going to switch things up a bit to suit my own preferences. For example, I did not like that they added the cream so early in the process. Too high of a risk of curdling. I know they say to cook on a medium low temperature to avoid that, but this is an area where I get paranoid.

Another example. I never like it when a recipe calls for the use of things like rice or potatoes and cooks them with the recipe. I like to cook them separate, so I can ensure it gets the “doness” I prefer.  Then I add it to the recipe later.

I also  switched out some of the ingredients. For example, I like to use the famous Old Bay Seasoning with seafoods, which the Junior’s recipe does not use.

This is what Old Bay Seasoning looks like.

So here it is, my clam chowder recipe. Evertime I serve it, it get people asking for the recipe. So I must have done something right.

INGREDIENTS:

6 medium potatoes, peeled, rinsed, and diced (very small)

1 cube butter

2 tablespoons minced garlic (I buy the jars of pre-minced garlic)

1 large onion finely minced

10 stalks of celery, ends cut off, rinsed, and finely chopped

2 – 8 oz. bottles of clam juice

5 – 6.5 oz. cans of minced clams (and the juice)

2 teaspoons dried parsley flakes

1/2 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning (If you don’t have Old Bay, use 1/2 teaspoon celery salt, 1/8 teaspoon dried mustard, 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger, and 1/8 teaspoon paprika)

3 bay leaves

3 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

1/2 cup half and half

Cover the diced potatoes with water and boil until soft enough to easily pierce with a fork.

Strain and set aside.

In a large pot, melt butter and sauté onions and garlic until onions are soft and translucent (about 4 minutes).

Add chopped celery and cook for another five minutes.

Add clam juice, clams (and their juice), bay leaves, Old Bay Seasoning, parsley, black pepper, potatoes and cook over medium low heat until boiling.

 

Remove from heat and stir in cream and half and half.

Eat and enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

