Best Pasta Dish I’ve Ever Made: Thin Spaghetti With Red Wine Marinara

Tonight I wanted something good and fast. My wife is at the hospital visiting her mother and I wanted it done by the time she got home, so she could have something scrumptious to eat. This turned out to be the right pick. I put this recipe together after looking at a few online and then throwing in my own inspiration too.

INGREDIENTS:

1 tablespoon butter (I use Brummel and Brown for a healthier kick.)

2 tablespoons olive oil

3 tablespoons minced garlic (I always used the stuff in the jar. Tastes the same and saves loads of time.)

1 stalk celery finely chopped

1 large carrot finely chopped

1/2  medium onion finely chopped

1/2 lb hamburger meat (It is perfectly fine to use ground turkey or chicken to make it more heart friendly.)

2 teaspoons dried oregano

2 teaspoons dried parsely

2 teaspoons dried basil

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon worcheshire sauce

1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

3-6 oz. cans tomato paste

2-15 oz. cans diced tomatoes

1/2 cup red wine (If you don’t like the thought of using wine, you can substitute with red wine vinegar or just omit it. It’s a lot stronger/tangier with red wine vinegar.)

1/2 – 1  cup heavy cream, depending how creamy and thin you want the sauce(You can use 1/2 & 1/2 or skim milk to make it healthier. Won’t taste as good though.)

Heat butter and oil in pan.

Sauté garlic for just a few seconds.

Add celery carrot and onions. Cook until carrots are soft.

Add hamburger. Cook until browned.

Add remaining ingredients (EXCEPT cream) and cook until heated.

I had to borrow the tomato paste from my neighbor Mindy who happened to be making pasta too. (Click here  to see here website.)

Remove from heat and stir in cream.

Serve on your favorite pasta and top with grated parmesan or mozzarella cheese.

NOTE: I just learned that this is best if eaten fresh. Even a couple of hours and the flavor will diminish.

8 thoughts on “Best Pasta Dish I’ve Ever Made: Thin Spaghetti With Red Wine Marinara

  1. Babe, it was deeeeelicious. Thanks for being the world’s greatest husband/dad. Love you. How did we not have tomato paste? Thanks, Mindy.

    • It’s great Jessica. You’ll love it. I have learned that is best fresh. Even a couple of hours old and the flavor will diminish.

  2. Don’t know how I missed this post, but I’m making this tonight. No–wait, we are eating at the neighbor’s tonight. Tomorrow for sure. Luhi, how do you find the time?!

Leave a Reply

