I’ve Had More Requests for This Recipe Than Any Other. (Best Cake In the Whole Wide World…In My Opinion…and Yours Too After You Eat It.)

I frequent a local restaurant named Cafe Rio. They have this dessert called Tres Leches. There are many times Fauneil (my beautiful wife) would send me there to buy just the dessert (I must obey. And getting me to go get this scrumptious dessert was not hard for her to do.) But it’s expensive. Like $4.00 for a pea size amount. OK, not quite that small, but it seemed like it.
Anyway, to cut to the point and make this story short, I didn’t want to pay this outrageous price, so I searched the world over for the recipe (thank heavens for the internet). I found many and played with a few until I came up with a combination that I liked. Here it is.
INGREDIENTS:

1 cup flour (make sure not to scoop up the flour but sprinkle it from one measuring cup to the one you are measuring with, or sift it into the cup.)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 egg yolks

6 egg whites

1 cup sugar

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/3 cup half and half

1 can evaporated milk

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1/4 up heavy cream

TOPPING:

1 pint whipping cream

2 teaspoons vanilla bean paste

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Grease and flour your pan and preheat oven to 375 degrees.

 

Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt to a bowl.

 

Mix it all together.

Separate your egg yolks and egg whites. I use the egg shell to do this, but they sell nifty little tools that help you do it easier.

 

Like this.

Add half and half, egg yolks, sugar, and vanilla to a mixing bowl.

Mix on high...

 

until pale yellow in color and well mixed.

Now add egg yolk mixture to bowl with dry ingredients.

Fold it together with a rubber spatula.

Now in your mixing bowl again, whip egg yolks until stiff like this.

Add that to your batter and fold it into the batter with a rubber spatula.

Pour it into your greased and floured baking pan and spread evenly.

 

Bake until tooth pick comes out clean. About 25 to 30 minutes. Let cool.

In your mixing bowl again, mix evaporated milk, sweetened condensed milk and heavy cream just until mixed.

Poke a bazzillion holes in your cake and pour three milk mixture evenly over surface paying special attention to the edges. Use ALL of the milk mixture.

Whip your cream with the powdered sugar and vanilla bean paste and spread it on top of your cake.

Make sure to eat, play with, and wear any of the left over whipped cream.

You can top it with maraschino cherries, raspberries, or strawberries. You can see that I like to use strawberries.

 

It will look like this.

 

Like this when it's sliced.

Here is a decorating idea.

And another.

We made this one for Kasia and Cami's baby shower. Like the 2nd or 3rd one I have been to in my whole life. I don't frequent this type of event.

2 thoughts on “I’ve Had More Requests for This Recipe Than Any Other. (Best Cake In the Whole Wide World…In My Opinion…and Yours Too After You Eat It.)

Leave a Reply

