Acorn Squash with Chicken, Cumin and Curry

I was talking to my friend Alex about my desire to eat healthier foods. (She wouldn’t let me take a picture of her, hence no photo.) I was speaking to her about this subject, because she eats healthy (I work with her sometimes at the hospital. She is the Pediatric Pharmacist there. Smart girl). Anyway, she mentioned  a dish she created with acorn squash. It sounded delicious, and I decided to blog about it. I had a slight problem though.  The acorn squash I bought were getting RIPE. So I decided I needed to use them right then, but…I had no  recipe (meaning I had lost the instructions I had written down when talking to Alex). I did however have some memory of our conversation. Here is what I remember:

INGREDIENTS:

Acorn Squash

Cumin

Crasins

Vegtables

Ground chicken.

Spices.

DIRECTIONS:

Cut the squash in half, cook till soft, scoop out innards,  and cook with remaining ingredients and put back into squash shell. Sounded like a swell idea to me, but I had to improvise a little, because I did not have directions or all of the ingredients. Here we go (thanks Alex for this wonderful idea).

INGREDIENTS:

2 acorn squash

2 tablespoons Brummel & Brown, divided ( Brummel & Brown is a whipped yogurt that can take the place of butter and has half the fat.)

1 small onion finely chopped

2 celery stocks finely chopped

1 large carrot finely chopped

1 large chicken breast cut into chunks (or ground like Alex uses is just fine)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/4 teaspoon curry

1/2 teaspoon dried parley

1/4 teaspoon dried basil

1 tablespoon red wine vinegar

1 tablespoon brown sugar

1 cup basmati rice (and two cups water for cooking it)


You start with two acorn squash.

Cut them in half.

Scoop out the seeds.

Place them face down on a large cookie sheet, add 3-4 cups of water and bake them at 400 degrees for 40 minutes (until flesh is soft).

 

 

While the squash is cooking, you will need to make rice. Put 1 cup of rice and two cups of water in a small pot. Cook on medium heat until boiling.

Turn heat to low and cook, covered, for 15 minutes.

 

The rice will be soft and fluffy, like this.

Add 1 tablespoon Brummel & Brown, mix in, then set aside.

Also, while the squash is cooking, you will need to cook the filling. Melt one tablespoon of Brummel & Brown in a medium sized pot.

Add finely chopped onions and celery and sauté until soft.

Add diced chicken, curry, cumin, salt, pepper, basil, parsley, red wine vinegar, and brown sugar. Cook until chicken is browned.

Add carrots and cook about 5 minutes longer.
Once the squash is cooked, pull it out of the oven, drain the water, turn the halves over and let cool.
Scoop out the flesh of the squash…

 

 

Add the squash flesh to the chicken mixture.

 

Put some rice at the bottom of one of the squash shells.

Top it with the chicken/squash mixture and serve. I garnish it with dried parley flakes and you can salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

