Suzzie (No, Not the Girl Next Door, the Sandwich) All the fat and twice the cholesterol

You may be thinking to yourself, a Suzzie sandwich? I’ve never heard of a Suzzie sandwich before! Well you would be right about that.  I made it up. I figure if some guy can throw together rye bread, pastrami, Swiss and saurkraut and call it a Reuben, then I can throw together white bread, pastrami, Parmesan  and egg and call it a Suzzie.

Some of you who follow my blog may be wondering why I didn’t name it after my wife. Well, there is a simple explanation for that. My wife hates it. When I told her my idea, she gave me the most grotesque look. At that point I thought, “Well, guess I’ll be eating this by myself.”

Coincidentally, I had the idea of this sandwich when deciding what to do with Ruben leftovers after my birthday party. The pastrami was sitting there rotting, and I had to do something with it — quick.

Before I explain how to make a “Suzzie Sandwhich” let me warn you. If you are trying to eat healthy, “Run away, and never return” (quoting from The Lion King there). There is fat, fat, fat, and more fat in this sandwich. I don’t eat this everyday.

INGREDIENTS:

Non-stick spray

1 tablespoon butter (or Brummel and Brown if you want to be a little healthier)

1/2 – 1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 -2 large eggs

3 tablespoons heavy cream

1 slice of a good white bread (Pugliese is the perfect bread for this)

2-4 thin slices of pastrami

Parmesan cheese grated

Toast a slice of hearty white bread.

 

When it is done toasting, butter it and set it aside.

 

Spray a small frying pan with non-stick spray. This is to prevent sticking.

Now melt a tablespoon butter in the pan. This is for flavor.

Sauté 1/2 to 1 teaspoon of minced garlic.

Add one large egg to the pan.

Cook until egg whites are cooked on the bottom. They will be runny still on the top.

Add 3 tablespoons heavy cream on the outsides of the egg.

Now cover. You want to cook the egg by steaming it in the cream.

Meanwhile, heat 2-4 slices of pastrami in the microwave (or pan, or whatever. Just heat it).

Place the pastrami on your toast.

Once the egg whites are cooked but the yolk is runny, put pepper on the egg and remove it from pan (unless you like a cooked yolk, then cook it).

 

Place it on your bread and pastrami.

There will be a cream sauce in your pan.

Pour it on top of your egg.

Now grate Parmesan cheese and sprinkle it on top.

I break my egg yolk for looks. Eat and enjoy (and feel your heart stop because of all the fat.)

 

Leave a Reply

