The Day I Hid My Kid’s Toys and Wore Paper Ties: Cherry Lane Father’s Day 2011

Father's day this year was our classic, typical Father's Day. It started with Fauneil and the kids bringing me breakfast in bed. As always, the kids stayed in bed to eat with me.

I got hard boiled eggs and my favorite breakfast treat, Greek yogurt with granola. Yum!

McCann drew this for me. It is a picture of me. (Good looking guy, huh?)


Lily drew me this picture of herself and framed it in foam.

She also drew me a picture of a blue ball. (Don't ask me why. I don't get the connection either.)

Lily also made me the paper tie I am wearing in this photo. I wore it to church today.

For lunch today, we chopped up our last red peppers...

and made red pepper soup. Delish! We ate it with grilled cheese sandwiches.

Brandon gave me the best Father's Day present ever. He watched Lily and McCann while I took a 3 hour nap. Fauneil was even able to join me for the last two hours. Thanks Brandon.

Thanks Brandon!


I gave myself a father's day present this year. I hid the loud, annoying toy electric piano that the kids always play. They will never find it in the laundry cabinet. I may not tell them about it for several days. Let's see if I can pull this off.

Leave a Reply

