If You Want To Go To Heaven, Go Here

There is a place we often pass, on our way from "here to there." It is called the Walnut Cottage.

It has beautiful trees...

A koi pond...

Quaint window boxes...

And authentic multi-pane windows.

I've always wanted to do a photo shoot of this celestial spot, so today I walked up to their front door and asked if I could.

I was not surprised to find that the owners of such a wonderful place were just as fantastic as their house. Not only did he give us permission for the photo shoot, but...

He had Lily help him feed the fish.

The fish ate right out of her fingertips.

Let me tell you about the Walnut Cottage.

John, the owner, is a true gardener. I know this because he left his tool in the garden. Authentic gardeners are in the garden so much that they always do this. Let me show you his gardens. This is more proof.

They even have their own compost bin.

He also has many flowers in his garden.

John and his wife are very "earthy." They raise bees, harvest pears, apples, grapes, tomatoes, lettuce and, you guessed it, walnuts .

I've heard it said that "success is in the details." Well, they have details here in spades - starting with this split cedar fence that borders their property. It gives it a very rustic look.

No plain or ordinary garden hose rack here.

Same goes with their hose guards too ...

Check this out. A wood peg and wood pin used to hold together a board. If that isn't detail, I don't know what is.

Everything is functional. These shutters actually (are you ready for this?) shut. They have both form AND function.

The following photos show more details I like about their place.

Even the garage has a bungalow feel to it.

Now, more than ever, I will look forward to driving or walking by.

6 thoughts on “If You Want To Go To Heaven, Go Here

  1. Looks tasty! I was eating a BLT with home grown tomato while I read this post. It was also delish. Did not know you were a blogger Irwin. Congratulations on your French follower…

Leave a Reply

