Today I Made This Omelette With the Rotting Scraps At the Bottom Of My Empty Fridge. I Call It “The Rotten Egg”

INGREDIENTS:

1/4 block cream cheese cut into chunks

Red pepper

10-12 green onions (just the base with the root and outer skin removed)

Anaheim chili pepper

1 tablespoon garlic

1/4 of a boneless chicken breast, chopped into small chunks

4 large eggs

1 teaspoon cooking sherry

juice of one lime

non-stick spray

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 teaspoon basil

1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1/4 teaspoon celery salt

Salt  and pepper to taste

My fridge is VERY empty. I really need to go on a shopping trip.

Pretty much, the only things left are the wilting/rotting food that falls to the bottom of the vegetable drawers. It is from this source that I had to cook myself something to eat tonight.

I found a 1/4 block of cream cheese, broke it up and set it aside.

Found a wilting red pepper that I chopped finely and added to this bowl.

I found some green onions (also wilting). I chopped off the white ends, removed the root and outer layer of skin then...

chopped them finely. I added them to the bowl with the red peppers.

I chopped off the end of a rotting Anaheim chili pepper, chopped it finely and...

Added it to the red pepper and green onion.

I then added 1 tablespoon minced garlic.

I found a Ziplock bag with a piece of chicken breast that had been in the fridge for about a week. It smelled okay, so I chopped into very small chunks and set it aside.

I beat 4 large eggs with...

1 teaspoon cooking sherry and...

the juice of one lime. (This lime was so old, that it was yellow on the outside, not green.) I set the eggs aside and...

sprayed a non-stick pan with non-stick spray and heated up 2 tablespoons olive oil. (I only meant to use one tablespoon, but poured too much. Oh well!)

I sautéd the onion/red pepper mixture for about 30 seconds.

I then added the chicken and cooked it thoroughly.

I then added 1/4 teaspoon of each of the following: Italian seasoning, basil, and celery salt. I also salted and peppered to taste.

I poured the egg mixture over the meat and veggies then let it cook a couple of minutes

I then dotted it with the cream cheese chunks.

When it was cooked enough, I folded it like this, let it cook for a minute or two more. (As you can see, I am not very good at folding eggs. Hopefully you are better than me.)

I then flipped it over again and let it cook another minute.

Now for the real test. If I feed it to Lily and she doesn't like it, then I know I have done it right. Kids don't like good food. They only like mac and cheese... She hates it. Yes!

Man this is good!

One thought on “Today I Made This Omelette With the Rotting Scraps At the Bottom Of My Empty Fridge. I Call It “The Rotten Egg”

Leave a Reply

