I Had To Run To 7-11 Thanksgiving Morning, and I Forget To Add Sugar To Our Pumpkin Pie

*

Every Thanksgiving we are in charge of the pies.

So, the day before, I pulled out my pie crust cooking tools like ramekins and...

rolling pins.

Pulled out my ingredients like butter and...

flour...

and started making pie crusts.

Fast forward to Thanksgiving morning: I started on the fillings. Apple pie ingredients, check. Banana cream pie ingredients, check. Pumpkin pie ingredients, check. Squash pie ingredients, check. Peach pie ingredients... oh crap. I forgot to get the peaches...

I quickly ran to 7-11, at first morning light, and bought peaches. Oh thank heaven for 7-11.

Anyway, after that tangent in my pie baking plans, I got the fillings made. Here are the mini peach pies ready to put the crust on top.

Here is the pumpkin pie filling ready to be poured into the pie crust. We got the pies into the oven.

While we waited for the pies to cook, we dressed up...

and played with the Google Thanksgiving doodle. Here are a few of the 12 variations we found.

The Google Thanksgiving Doodle - Wizard

The Google Thanksgiving Doodle - Pirate

The Google Thanksgiving Doodle - Disco

The Google Thanksgiving Doodle - Surfer Dude

The Google Thanksgiving Doodle - Football

And my personal favorite. The Google Thanksgiving Doodle - Tofu Turkey for all you vegetarians out there.

We pulled the pies out. They looked great. Oh wait...

What's wrong with this picture? I'll tell you. On the right is the pumpkin pie. On the left are the sugar and spices that were supposed to go in that pie. Doh! I had to redo the pumpkin. Well, I finally got some pies baked. Here we go...

Mini Banana Cream Pies

Acorn Squash Tarts.

Sweet Potato Pie

Pumpkin Pie

Mini Peach Pies

Oh, by the way, when I went to get the potatoes, I found a grocery bag with -you guessed it- my peaches for the peach pies. Guess I didn't have to go to 7-11 after all.

Leave a Reply

