Have You Ever Felt Like Quitting?

I hope I don't ever portray an image that everything is always perfect at the Purcell home, because they are not always that way. I see people, all the time, that try to put on this image (especially on Facebook). These people try to portray their lives as if they were like this photo - everyone is always happy and smiling like they live in some magical fairy land where deer eat out of their hands and the trees are all lined up in perfect rows.

More often than not, life is more like this photo. Kids crying, dirty dishes sitting in the sink waiting for me to give them some attention, and I am STRESSED OUT OF MY MIND, because I have so many things on my plate! All those people that portray a neat, orderly, and perfect life...they are all LIARS - whether it is someone on Facebook or the self improvement guru on TV.

Recently, I had a one of those really bad days - a very, very stressful day. I even argued with my wife (which we rarely do - that part of our life IS a true fairy tale). I told my wife, at the end of the day, "I quit!" I lost it. I was ready to dump everything and focus just on my family. I dumped Facebook, blogging, email, and Pinterest. I was ready to cancel our annual block parties and Halloween parties, etc. for 2012. I was even going to nix having any friends over for dinner any more. Like I said, I was going to focus 100% on JUST my family.

I set my plan into action and it was going smoothly, until a week into it. My wife mentioned, in bed that night, that one of her friends told her how much she LOVED Cherry Lane Diaries and looked forward to every blog post and update on Facebook. The next day, another friend asked if she could be my blog stalker. Then today a long time fan of Cherry Lane Diaries was talking to me about how much she loves our blog. I thought to myself, "Can I really just stop everything, or would that just be selfish of me? Should I think about others?" I was still determined to hold my ground,though.

Then, at about 4:30 today, I remembered a quote that my friend Rick shared on Facebook a couple of weeks back. It goes like this: "Remember that guy who gave up? Neither does anybody else." I felt like someone threw a rock at my head. Then the saying, "Quitters never win and winners never quit" came to mind. I knew at that point that I had to move on.

So, Cherry Lane Diaries has a new motto for 2012. "Remember that guy who quit? Neither does anyone else." I'm giving away free stickers just like this photo. If you want one, please send me a message or comment on this post.

So the moral of this story is that I'm pushing forward folks...and it's good to be back (even if I was only gone for a short time).

8 thoughts on “Have You Ever Felt Like Quitting?

  1. Luhi,
    Don’t feel pressure to keep up the blog…The reason I love reading your blog is because you are “real” and you don’t try to please everyone else. Do what you feel is good for you, and we can all sit back and read posts that truly mean something when you feel like writing them 🙂

  2. I would love a sticker. I definitely need to remember that when science classes are kicking my trash. I love your blog, by the way. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

