The Only Day Each Year That I Can Get My Kids To Cheerfully Do Yard Work

When Fauneil heard about the volunteer clean-up at Utah Lake State Park, we jumped right on it. Our kids were sooooo excited.

It was a beautiful day on the lake.

They fed us donuts and OJ, which the kids loved...

gave us t-shirts...

and wristbands...

and goggles.

They gathered together all 500 of us for instructions and then...

we gathered our tools and got to work.

We hauled sticks...

cleaned out gutters...

scraped and sanded the rust off of bbq grills...

and painted them.

This is the before.

This is the after. Don't they look great?

After the work, they had owls and falcons for the kids to see and...

KFC for lunch. Of course, McCann didn't want KFC; he wanted McDonalds.

Since it was his birthday, we took the kids to McDonalds on the way home. (Fauneil and I ate the KFC.)

Oh, I forgot to mention that we met my cousins while we were there. The Purcells were taking over.

I also saw my long time friend, Billy. Last time I saw him was in 1994 in Hawaii. Great to catch up.

It was a fantastic day. We got to teach our kids about work AND have fun. Can't get any better than that. (And the photographers got plenty of photos of us. I think we'll make the newsletter.)

One thought on “The Only Day Each Year That I Can Get My Kids To Cheerfully Do Yard Work

Leave a Reply

